International Year of Sound 2020-2021

Event Calendar

The Year of Sound will be celebrated with events originating at the regional, the national, and the international levels. Here we list all events that have an acoustical outreach component in line with the goals of the Year of Sound.


5 - 7 July 2021Spain

Web Audio Conference 2021

rescheduled from 9-11 December 2020

The sixth Web Audio Conference (WAC) will be held from the 5th to the 7th of July 2021 at the Campus del Poblenou of the Universitat Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona, Spain.

WAC is an international conference dedicated to web audio technologies and applications. The conference addresses academic research, artistic research, development, design, evaluation and standards concerned with emerging audio-related web technologies such as Web Audio API, Web RTC, WebSockets and Javascript. The conference welcomes web developers, music technologists, computer musicians, application designers, industry engineers, R&D scientists, academic researchers, artists, students and people interested in the fields of web development, music technology, computer music, audio applications and web standards. Web Audio Conferences were previously held in 2015 at IRCAM and Mozilla in Paris, in 2016 at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, in 2017 at the Centre for Digital Music, Queen Mary University of London in London, in 2018 at TU Berlin in Berlin, and 2019 at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim.

The theme for the sixth edition of the Web Audio Conference is “the international year of sound”. Therefore, we encourage submissions focusing on inclusive sound computing, cultural sound computing, collaborative and participatory interfaces for generation, production, distribution and consumption of audio in any context of our society, as well as any other production which shows how sound is an essential part of communication.

Location: Barcelona

Organisation Responsible: Universitat Pompeu Fabra (Music Technology Group) and SonoSuite

Contact: Luis Joglar Ongay, at


© 2017-2024 International Commission for Acoustics